2003 Evo 8 crazy idle

Luis Lopez

Hi guys I’m having some issues with my evo 8. Everyday I have to change my idle setup. And now after a I’m driving coming to a stop it goes crazy like it’s switching between ignition and ignition idle table. And if I turn the ac on sometimes it dies and sometimes it doesn’t. I’ve never seen a car so unstable and inconsistent as far as idle setup goes. I did everything per the manual to setup the open loop idle and close loop. I’m honestly tired of dealing with it and I’m not an expert so I’m asking you guys for some input. Thanks in advance!

ok so now the idle is a bit better but tps for some reason doesn't go below .6% when idling. I've done several calibrations and its working but I have no idea whats the issue. Now when I'm coming to a stop, rpms starts going from 1800-2200 or so until it reaches a normal idle and stabilizes. I'm gonna attach the new map since i tuned idle with the idle ignition off first then open loop the closed loop. I'm up to the point that I just don't want to drive the car anymore. Like I said before I'm no expert but tuning an idle for this car shouldn't be so damn complicated :(. I'm gonna leave a mod list since the car is mildly modified.

Engine 

stock crank, manley turbo tuff 156mm rods, diamond custom pistons 9:1 cr

S3 cams, kiggly springs, ferrea valves, unported head 

skunk 2 intake  manifold, S90 74mm throttle

1700X ID injectors, dual 450lph pumps one is constant the other is turning on by inj duty cycle -8 feed, -6 return

custom exhaust manifold twin scroll with a 6870 

5" inter-cooler

current map.pclrLog 2019-10-14 11;26;41 am.llgLog 2019-10-14 10;51;34 am.llgLog 2019-10-14 10;35;10 am.llg

• 2 weeks later...

Here you go Adam, log with overrun off and close loop lambda off.

Log 2019-10-27 1;54;54 pm.llg

5 hours ago, remski2 said:

Assuming your base "idle igntion" is 10deg...

Your Idle ignition table seems wrong.