RB20DET with Link G4+ Idling Issues

Cormac

Hi All, 

I currently own an R32 Skyline with RB20DET engine and a Link G4+ ECU. The car intermittently has problems idling and sometimes will cut out. 

Firstly, apologies if any of my questions seem basic. I am new to the world of aftermarket ECUs so my knowledge is limited. 

The car sometimes has an erratic idle, when hot or cold. It will fall to almost 0 rpm before rising back up to  ~1200 rpm before falling back down to idle, or sometimes cutting out. 

The issue is more apparent when coming to a stop and pressing the clutch. It also seems to happen more frequently when turning the steering wheel and coming to a stop, or when using the rear window demister and A/C. I believe this is due to these systems requiring more engine power to run, and the idle suffers as a result. 

A search on google suggests that the Idle Air Control Valve gets gummed up on these engine, and requires a clean out, and then a reset of the idle. I did this yesterday and installed with a brand new gasket. However it did not make a difference. What was even more unusual is that the position of the adjustment screw on the IACV doesn't make any difference to idle speed at all. 

So my questions is this - is the IACV used by the G4+ ECU to control the idle? Or is another method used altogether?

I'd appreciate any suggestions on this issue! :)

Cheers

• 1 month later...

Hi, apologies for the delayed response. It took some time to get a tuning cable and go for a test drive. 

Unfortunately I couldn't recreate the issue on the test drive, due it being intermittent. However I did manage to sort of re-create the issue by turning on and off the headlights when idling. 

I am attaching three log files.

1) Test drive log.

2) Base map from my ECU.

3) Shorter log of turning on and off headlights.

There also seems to be one fault code logged on my ECU - "ECU Fault Code 46: An Temp 2 above Error High value".

Thanks for the help!