New set up connection issue

Home Built by Jeff

Let me establish first that I am a complete beginner at all of this, but I have spent a long time wiring up my new engine build to the ECU and I have just tried to connect for the first time.

First question is which is the tuning port and which is the serial port (I assume for dashes etc). My Thunder has one with a red rubber ring around it and one with black but the tuning cable fits into both and I can't find any documentation saying which is which?

That said, I have tried connecting from both and have had no luck. I am in the process of trying to reinstall the latest software, but the on I was using was only downloaded a couple of months ago. I have checked that there is power coming to the 14v input on the ECU and the Green Ground Out has Ground (the black Grounds do not). 

F3 gave me the error, and I have gone to the Options/Connection. I tried changing the first option from Manual to Auto and on the main screen it just says 'searching'.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.  

At least one of the black grounds will definitely need to be grounded, these are the main power grounds.  The green grounds are for sensors only

Yes, the one with the red o-ring is the usb tuning port.  Go to windows device manager and make sure there is a link USB ECU showing up in device manager and there are no exclamation marks or similar warnings/errors showing next to it.  Note it is Anzac day holiday here in NZ but I can give you a hand on teamviewer if you need it later today.  PM me on this forum if you need to.