g4 extreme drivers

jon9985

Hi all new to this forum and the link too.

Basicly i have a mk4 supra running the extreme ecu.

Im new to it so still getting to grips. I am no tuner but know a few bits and like to learn.

Few days ago cylinder 6 started missing....tried all sorts but turns out no signal coming from the ecu pin. So guessing driver has failed. Cars been running spot on since ownership (1year) )

So anyways what ive done is told car its a 7 cylinder and swapped drivers for number 7. Ive also switched firing order so cylinder 6 fires as 7 and 7 fires as 6.

The ignition test says its all fine as can hear coil firing so wires all good and its getting signal.

Started car up and it sounda awful....banging away and missing/firing at wrong time it seems

Have i missed something as in essence all ive done is swapped drivers around.....??? 

Regards jon

Hi jon9985,

Firstly, if the ECU is not working correctly and the number 6 ignition driver is faulty I would strongly advice sending it back for a warranty check.

Very unusual for an ECU to have this failure as every ECU is BAKE TESTED before dispatch, ( PUT INTO EXTREMME HEAT AND FREEZING CONDITIONS ) and tested before release.

It is by no means impossible something has failed as we are dealing with electronics here.

Changing the file to 7 or 8 cylinder and then changing the firing order and the wiring  to suit is fine but you must also do the same for the injectors as they are sequential also.

Regards

Dave.

I thought it were unusual that driver had gone down too. I am talking to link themselves but they replied quickly and now have seem to of forgotten about me. Am located in uk so not sure where to seek help with link.

Anyways i am grateful for reply....i shall get on it tomorrow and let you know the outcome.

Regards jon