Traction Control

bob

I have just spent a few days trying to get the traction control to work as I expected it to work. I have found the traction control is not for performance and is for safety. If you are like me, I fit a aftermarket ECU as I want my engine to make more power and car to accelerate faster.

There are two types of traction control safety and performance. Factory traction control which is found on many cars is the safety type. This is why most people are not interested in traction control as they do not see it as a performance advantage. I have a lot of experience with performance traction control. Once you have experienced this type you are a believer.

My experience comes from using the Autronic traction control, which was developed with the assistance of Larry Perkins for the V8 Supercars in the late 1980's. It was eventually banned due to the advantage it gave.

I have asked that the Link/Vipec traction control to be fixed so it is the performance type, but have found no one in management is interested as they have more important things to do. I am hopping others will add to this request.

I will give you an example as to why the traction control does not make the car accelerate as fast as possible..

The way the Link/Vipec works is to rely heavily on ignition retard to reduce power to reduce wheel spin. It also will cut injectors, but from the "recommended" settings the only three cylinders would be cut on a six cylinder.  

The Autronic uses injector cut from one to maximum cylinders. It also warns you not to use ignition retard with turbocharged engines, as turbocharger and engine damage could occur. Very true fact...

The recommended settings given to me for the Link/Vipec are,

Ignition Retard Start -5 deg
Ignition Retard End -20 deg
Injector Cut Start 0%
Injector Cut End 40%
Proportional Gain 5
Integral Gain 0.3984
Derivative Gain 0