G4+ Version 5-6 WRX sti - Newby questions inside!

Sicwitit

Hello all, I just received my Link G4+ for my 1999 Subaru STi RA and I'm stoked to get this installed. I am new to Standalones so I have no clue what I'm doing with this and am trying to ensure I don't turn my car into a paper weight. I'm not new to cars, but I have no experience with standalone ECU's so this is new territory for me. So, My first question is what sensors should I buy to properly set this ECU up? I have already purchased a AEM air temp sensor and an AEM 3 port boost control solenoid. I'm wondering if I need to buy a MAP sensor. I was told by my seller that I can run a vacuum line directly to the ECU because it has a built in MAP sensor, but after inspecting the board, I'm not seeing anywhere a vacuum line would plug in. I do not what to run the factory MAF because I'm on a rotated turbo setup, so I need to know what my options are.

My next question is what other sensors or accessories should I consider purchasing to take full advantage of this ECU?

I don't know what else to ask, so if there is any general advice you guys can give, I would greatly appreciate it.  I also know what your thinking, and no, I'm not going to attempt to tune this myself with a book, or following youtube videos, I'm searching for a tuner now that is familiar with Link ECU's in my area.

Thanks guys.

JT

Hi JT,

I would say you are on the right track by asking questions here. I do believe that you will need to use an aftermarket map sensor. If you have a wideband controller. Take full advantage and run the analog channel to the expansion plug. Buying an expansion harness is easy and will make life easy when adding additional sensors/ controls. I also like to run oil temp, oil pressure, and fuel pressure to set up additional safety within the ECU.