Using different ECU for injector dead time testing

TimoL

I just bought JECS 1000cc side feed injectors for my 99 WRX but the seller could not provide any dead time values.

So I build a test bench for testing injector dead times. The setup:

-Adjustable fuel pressure reg, 2 - 9 Bar

-Adjustable voltage supply, 9 - 15V, 36 A

-MS2 based ECU

But I started thinking that maybe I should not do this with other ECU than the one I actually use on my car (Link G4+ WRX Ver5/6) with these injectors?

I plan to get fairly accurate data for dead time and possibly short pulse width, but I have no experience of the latter.

On the other hand, wiring the Link G4+ to my test bench should not be very hard. AFAIK only 8 wires would need to be connected:

-12V (batt)

-12V (switched)

-GND

-Inj 1, 2 ,3 &4

-Inj common (+12V)

-Timo

Yes, I highly suggest you use the Link for this test as I suspect our injector driver circuits are probably different than a MS2 and this can have quite an effect on dead times.  

See this post here for a bit of an idea how another user tested deadtime and short pulse width adder  (Roman is user @Davidv on the Link forum):  https://oldschool.co.nz/index.php?/topic/21624-romans-beams-3sge-toyota-carina/&do=findComment&comment=1688039  Im sure he had a similar post on this forum but I cant find it.

Thank you for your input Adamw.

I am going to use the Link ECU for the dead time testing. I took a look at PCLink manual and it seems that I can test only one injector at a time and only using injector channel 1 because I need the advanced mode. Is it right? It's not really a problem, I was just hoping to be able to test all 4 injectors at the same time.

Also I'm not certain as how to wire the ECU. The installation manual has at least some of the pins explained. Based on the manual I would wire the ECU like this. Is this correct? And how do I wire the injector +, just straight to +12V?

image.png.c6ec68591fcd0457f01d38de005d712f.png

-Timo