MKIV Supra Turbo Road Racer AEM EMS Convert

Guest |266|

One of our customers has been a long time road racing instructor for Trackmasters and his weapon of choice is a MKIV Toyota Supra Turbo.

Pits2Glen05.09.jpg

I've been tuning this car for around 5 or 6 years now. The owner had a MAP ECU for a bit which was severely limited in what it could do so we get him an AEM EMS standalone to better handle the engine controls. At the time ViPec wasn't available. After installing a 61mm single turbo conversion and supporting mods the car misfired on the AEM EMS at about 17 psi. This is a common issue on Supras with AEM EMS and all the AEM guys go out and buy HKS DLI boxes to allow them to run higher boost levels without hard misfiring.

Last fall the Supra's clutch began to act up and we discovered it was doing this because the stock engine had MASSIVE crankwalk. Year after year this engine took a great deal of abuse at a dozen or so track weekends a year. It compression tested fine, but it was spent. It turned out one of the main bearings had almost totally disappeared and the crank was grinding against a main cap.

We went ahead with an engine build and performed a number of upgrades at the same time including a better intercooler, custom intercooler piping, custom breather box, Exedy multiplate clutch/flywheel, a Precision 6765 turbo, and we made a custom baffled meth tank setup to add a meth kit that would work well on course.

ITCustomMethCell2.jpg

EngineBay2010.jpg