Full lean under light throttle load

MattR

Managed to take the car (e36 with M54B30, E36 G4+ plugin) for a coupe of logging runs this weekend, and have noticed that irrespective of engine RPM it goes full lean at low throttle % and also while starting to accelerate. It's making it rather difficult to start to tune the fuel maps - is this likely to be related to the Acceleration enrichment tables? This is my first attempt at tuning an engine, am a little lost as to where to start. It's still running  on the basemap E36 tune, excuse the messy state of the current maps.

Thanks!screengrab.JPG.7375fac70b446d2e53dd951f513c23f1.JPG

BMW E36 G4+ M54B30.pclr

Yeah, tough to see much without a log, but some of this looks really familiar to me.  (everything looks like a nail, right?)  2 cents:

1. You have Overrun Fuel Cut set to 1% TP.  If your foot is light on the gas and the engine is warm you'll see "very lean."  That part is "by design" and like an OEM system.  If your TP sensor is good, you should consider using a TP lower than 1% for fuel cut.  I have ITB's, but my TP sensor is well-configured.  I use 0.1% throttle for overrun fuel cut.  At 1% it surges and bucks really terribly while in slow traffic in my particular engine (TP ends up at around 0.2-0.4% in those situations for my engine.  ymmv.)
  2. Accel Enrich was necessary for me to smooth out those spikes you see when you stab into the throttle.  I was unable to achieve a repeatable tune without carefully configuring accel enrich.
    Get a low RPM cell (like 1000rpm) in good shape with steady state (find a hill and go up in 5th at 30mph WOT while logging haha) then do idle throttle stabs at 1000rpms while tuning out the lean spike with your accel enrich.
    This is what I did with my VE tune, but you're on Traditional fueling.  Not sure how much different it may be to get your accel enrich roughed in.

Good luck, and post logs!  You'll get sorted.  :-D

23 minutes ago, krohelm said: