Setting up AEM X-series wideband over CAN on G4+ PNP

Kenian

Hi Guys,

Just trying to figure out how to wire my new AEM X series wideband into my G4+ using the CAN output from the wideband controller. I am a complete newbie in regards to the CAN network. I am looking at purchasing the below harness from NZEFI but have a few questions:- 

https://www.nzefi.com/product/nzefi-link-g4-g4-plug-ecu-can-cable/ 

I am a little bit confused as to where the power and ground come into the picture? I was under the impression i could just wire the CAN High and CAN Low coming out of the controller to the CAN High and CAN Low coming out of the ECU harness (little white plug).

Does the CANBUS system need power to work? If you have a read of the NZEFI link it says " In order to supply power and ground to the devices(s) on your CAN-bus, power and ground wires are also included in the loom in the form of a flying lead." What exactly does it mean by supply power and ground to the devices on your CANBUS? The wideband is already supplied with a power and ground. 

Also do i need to employ a 120 ohm terminating resistor or is this only used when you create a BUS with more than one device on the BUS? 

I have looked at the wideband manual and done a bit of Googling but had no luck finding a meaningful answer. 

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks 

Kenian 

Link-G4-Plug-in-ECU-to-CAN-Cable.jpg

The CAN H/L are the communication wires - these are the only 2 wires that get connected to the ECU.  The Red/black are to supply power to the wideband controller, for these you need to find your own source in the car - normally would be connected to a relay/fuse that is only live when the ign switch is on. 

Yes, you should have a 120ohm terminating resistor connected across the Can H/L wires somewhere near the wideband connector.

• 3 months later...