Crank Sensor Trigger 1 output

Cemicks

BMW S54 conversion in E36 ran last week with V88. I was cutting out wires from old OEM harness for cleanup. Now it won’t start. I am brand new to ViPec system. Purchased car this way. I am not seeing any voltage from Trigger 1 signal wire with ignition on. I checked at crank sensor connector and cut into wire 2” from V88 pinout. Shouldn’t I be getting similar 5V as Trigger 2 cam sensor?  

7 hours ago, Cemicks said:

Shouldn’t I be getting similar 5V as Trigger 2 cam sensor?  

No, those engines have a reluctor (VR) sensor on the crank so they are not powered - they generate their own voltage when the teeth move past the sensor.  

The cam sensor is probably hall effect so it will likely be powered (12V) on one pin and often a 5V pull up on another.  

Does the ECU power up (laptop connect)?  Do you get RPM displayed in the software when cranking?

4 hours ago, Adamw said:

Does the ECU power up (laptop connect)?  Do you get RPM displayed in the software when cranking?

Thank you for your quick response.  Thought I was onto my problem.  Yes, the cam sensor is powered by 12V along with the 5V pin.  I rotated the motor and saw that working correctly.  I can connect via laptop and will check this evening for rpm.  I cannot imagine that any of the wires I removed would have caused this.  They were all (I second guess myself now) cut and bundled by the previous owner when he did the motor and ECU conversion.  If no rpm seen on laptop I assume the sensor is the culprit.  If rpm is seen, what would I look for next?  Is there a test for power to the injectors or igniters I can do?  

Yes, RPM will confirm if the problem is related to triggers or not.  If you have RPM then I would suggest doing a short log of it cranking and attach it here so we can see if there are any other clues.

7 hours ago, Cemicks said:

Is there a test for power to the injectors or igniters I can do?