Best LINK Ecu for beginners to learn & grow?

toystar45

Hello everyone, I am building Toyota 4Runner in the USA using a Lexus LS430 3UZ with a M122 supercharger going on a 5spd manual transmission with amechanical throttle body..

I am not new to building these rigs but I am very new to force induction and standalone ECU. I dont want massive power with all the bells and whistles. I feel as if i want something similar to a factory ecu but with the ability to learn and grow at the same time. Please help me out with what i will need to start learning how to tune my own rig. Now, Ive heard of Link ecu having a lot support so Link ECU are on the top of the list. I found where to buy ecu and harnesses, but do i need to buy any special sensors. Excuse me as I really need a place to start. 

A Monsoon could most likely run it but you would have to us a group or semi sequential injection mode and you would be limited on inputs and outputs. A Storm would be on the cheaper end and would allow sequential injection and direct spark but would require an external H-Bridge if adding E-Throttle later if you decided to. An Xtreme would have a bit more IO than the Storm and allow for internal E-Throttle control if you decided to fit that.

The whole G4X range shares the same software and there is a slight difference in feature availability with the larger ECUs having more of the higher end motorsport features.

Downloading PCLink and reading the help manual is a good idea if you want to familiarise yourself with how things work and you can load to various sample maps to see what's possible with each ECU type before purchasing one.

Biggest thing to decide on before buying an ECU is how many sensors and outputs you want as this is often the restriction with smaller ECUs not having as many pins and so not being able to do as many things.

In terms of sensors I would suggest: