Starting Hassels

Shane Deadman

Hi all, I hope someone out there can help me. Im new to tuning a g4. I have a AU falcon xr8 220kw engine in my pickup truck

with a g4 running it, the trouble im having is it starts sweet as when cold but drive a k down the road or just shift it out of the shed and try to start a little later and it cranks forever pops and bangs then eventually if the battery aint flat it starts,touching the throttle doesn't help, drive a 100ks and it starts a little better, has seemd to get worse recently (possibly the cold). Have tried increasing the crank enrichment and also decreasing neither seems to help. There is probably a 100 things I need to change but don't fully understand how to navigate the tuning programme. Have got so sick of it im considering going carby as I understand them.Please help

Hi Dave

Thanks for the response. I should have added more info,  Was dyno tuned  several years ago but didn't have the IAC  fitted  so have since set that up (hopefully correctly) . Im in NZ , the IAT was 9deg when I played with the crank enrichment this morning. Its always been temperamental to start after first start. What I find is ill go to work in the morning starts mint its a 1min drive to work 4hrs later starts good to come home for lunch but a real shit to start an hr later to go back.