Supra wont start ... New need some help!

Guest |313|

Guest |313|

Hey guys I'll admit I am COMPLETELY new to all this engine management stuff. I have a 1997 Supra Turbo that I just installed a billet 67mm turbo on as well as the Vipec V88. I bought the V88 from John Reed ... great tuner ... however as my car is still on stock fuel until next March or so I can't see spending to have him come tune it only to have to fly him out again this coming March.

So John provided a base map for my car on stock fuel as well as a custom PNP harness to leave my stock ECU in charge of my built auto trans. So I have the IAT sensor installed and connected as well as the MAP sensor. I turn the key to ON, hit F3 and the laptop connects every time to the V88 no problems at all. Now knowing nothing at all at this point I figure John has given me a decent base map that should make the car drivable if not ideally tuned.

Every time I try to crank her over she cranks and cranks and cranks but never even gives a hit of turning over. I asked John and he briefly told me to check under triggers for Trig Signal 1 and 2 and make sure that they are there when I crank the car. Not entirely sure what he meant by make sure they are there however anytime I crank the car or it is just sitting I see Trig Signal 1 and 2 say "NO" and that is all I see. No Trig 1 Signal errors or engine RPM.

Any idea on even vaguely where to start would be great as it seems to take several days for John to get back to me which I know he is a busy guy but my car has been sitting for 3+ months now and I really would like to drive it before the end of summer :D

Thanks and Ray the V88 seems to be a good piece of hardware!!!

Damien Gambill

Check the wiring for the crank and cam sensors. This is how they must be wired.

E9-27 (Brown/Red) Crank +ve = A8 Trigger 1

E9-5 (Blue) Crank -ve = A24 or B22 Ground Out

E9-25 (Black/White) Cam +ve = A9 Trigger 2

E9-5 (Blue) Cam -ve = A24 or B22 Ground Out