Supra acting weird this morning...

Guest |306|

Guest |306|

I have a single turbo, 6 spd, 97 Supra TT with Vipec V88 and PnP harness.

I have been running it for a couple of months now, and it has been great. My tune was a little rich, so my friend (a good tuner) and I leaned it out a little, so I wouldn't get 13 mpg. We tuned the car on the highway- logs show no knock,timing at 16.5 degrees-17 @ 17-17.5 psi boost, a/f <11.3, pump oct 93 fuel for WOT pulls. Car wasn't breaking up. We were also tuning drivability. This is where the issues are.. I think.

We tuned the car to get nice 12-14 a/f for cruising, light throttle, low boost applications last night. She was driving VERY WELL last night. No hiccups, awesome throttle response, etc. This morning, I wake up from work, she started up like usual, but she was acting very weird~ almost like stumbling. During light throttle, low rpm <2700 (I think), oil temp @ 165-195F, boost in vacuum, the a/f jumped crazy from 10 (or lower, this is my aem a/f lower display threshold) to 13 and the car would jerk around a lot. I thought I was going to stall. At ONE (only one) light, the car almost died~ rpms dropped below 800, so I had to blip the throttle to stay alive. I got to work fine, but I was wondering why this was happening this morning.

Possible other things are:

1. Plugs? They are basically new @ 5K miles or so. They did take a beating with several wot pulls on the highway last night.

2. Weather? It rained last night. However, I've never had a problem with rain or cold with the Vipec before, why should it start now?

3. Hardware/software? We did tune the car last night with the newest software, but I don't think we updated the hardware. I read somewhere that we need to update the hardware as a separate step?

mods that may affect the car's driving:

stock fuel system, stock long block, stock cams, T67 single turbo, fmic, aem a/f, aem map sensor, vipec iat, v88 pnp

THANKS!

Guest Dave-Kriedeman