Idle at 2k, map set at 900

Mark Bryce

I am VERY new to working on ecu and tuning maps. I bought my car from someone who already had the ecu installed. He went and got it professionally tuned and they said his Idle Air control was bad. So the tuner made a map for the bad "IAC" and made another map for when the IAC was replaced. I bought a new IAC through Subaru for $370. that hurt. Installed it and the threw on the new map. The "cat tune good iat" map was idling at about 3.5-4k so i through the "cat tune bad iat" map back on and its running at 2k. better but the idle is set to run at 900...not 2k or 3.5k i hope i can attach the two maps.... P.S. driving a 99 Rs/04 STi SB swap, rc 660 injectors, Gt28 turbo,... Link plus G1, with a ...v4? laptop compatible.

cat-tune-good.iat.pcl

Hi Mark.

The first thing that jumped out at me was the difference in IAC equipment selected.  On the old map you had a solenoid selected, and on the new one you have a stepper selected.  The stepper needs to operate with a special sub-board inside the ECU, and will not operate without it, and inversely the solenoid needs to operate without the board installed. 

Please confirm what the actuall set up is, 4 or 6 wire stepper, or 2 or 3 wire solenoid + special sub board installed or not etc.

Jurgen

Jurgen, I guess i should also add. The reason that the old map and the new map have different IAC setting is because when it is set to solenoid it runs at a lower RPM, but if stepper is selected its runs very high. So i mentioned. I beleive i have a 6 wire stepper. The plug that goes into the actual IAC valve has 6 wires. But i do not know if that makes it a stepper. and also i do not know if i have a sub board installed or not. How would i find out? is it in my ECU box? Thanks, Mark

Hi Kyle.