Link ECU lost tune?

Curtis

Hi so about a month ago my  cut out on me and wouldnt start again. So i took it to the mechanic and they did some tests and found it was one of the wires for the coilpacks was shorting so got that fixed and it runs.Also put in a new coilpack loom cause the connecters on the other one were broken and taped up the coilpacks to stop it from missfiring in high revs. Car was also tuned about a couple months ago and running smoothly with no problems before this problem happened.

Now when i drive im sure it feels a bit slower then what it use to be  but it still runs the same boost levels it was tuned at 0.8 bar low boost up to 1.1 bar high boost. And i think it also is running a bit more richer cause it uses alot more fuel and backfires a bit more when i change gears. The car also use to idle a little higher but it idles perfect now so im not fussed with that one lol.

I pluged the laptop into the ecu and had a quick look but im a novice with this tuning stuff so all i could find was the fault codes which some could be old ones most likely.

fault code :17 an volt 3 below

20 an volt 4 below

might try  some different sparkplugs with wider a gap now that coilpacks are working good for now.

And maybe new fuel filter and fuel pump

Also the mechnic had taken the ecu out of the car and had one of his computer guys try to have a look but he didnt do much to it so was wondering if having the ecu completley unplugged could have reset it somehow maybe.

Any help would be appreciated thanks

The car is a R34 GTT with a rb25det

Hi Curtis,

From the info you have given I think it is quite unlikely there is an ECU issue.  It is more likely to be a failed sensor, a wiring issue, or possibly something like the CAS has moved (I think remember reading the CAS drive sometimes shears or comes loose on RB's?).  There is no volatile memory that would be lost, reset or changed by disconnecting the ECU.