One or two oxygen sensors

Claudi

I'm in the planning stage for my 1983 Porsche 911 EFI conversion.  I intend on using the Fury.  As there are two cylinder banks; is it important, or are there advantages to, using two oxygen sensors?  One for each bank of cylinders?  As the Fury has one Wideband sensor input I'm assuming the second sensor would need to be wired through a CAN Lambda unit.

If it has a common plenium and single throttle then air/fuel distribution will be decent enough that I would be happy with a single sensor.  If you are going to ITB's or a throttle each side then probes on each side using dual channel closed loop can improve small throttle/low speed driving where there is the largest side to side error.  

Yes for the Fury you would add a CAN lambda for the 2nd probe.  

I'm planning on using the AT Power ITBs, so ya, I hear you saying I should control the banks separately.  Just to be clear (that is to say, I'm quite new to this), when you say "dual channel closed loop", you mean two CAN Lambda units on a common CAN Bus?  Or is there another configuration I'm missing?

Thanks for the help!

Dual channel closed loop is just the software strategy - this means you assign which injectors and which oxy probe belongs to each bank then the ecu will trim the fuel on both sides independently to keep the air fuel ratio as close as possible to target.  So if one side is lean and one side is rich then it will add fuel to one side and remove fuel from the other.  

Single channel closed loop would be where you have only a single oxygen sensor in a common collector - or you have one each side but the ECU averages the reading from both, and applies the same fuel correction is applied to all cylinders. 

Since you have a Fury you would just need one CAN lambda connected for dual bank control.