E36 G4X No Start S50B30

ryancyates

I've installed an E36 plug and play ECU in my Euro E36 with a S50B30.

The car is attempting to start, I know I'm missing something simple but I can't figure it out.  I'm guessing it has something to do with the triggers and the trigger scope since I have almost no experience with it.  This is my first time using a LinkECU so it's a new experience for me.

The car is attempting to start, it sounds like an issue of timing.  I get a few hard cranks and some pops out of the exhaust.

I did switch from the traditional fueling method to the modeled but I haven't done anything with that area other than setting up the engine and injector size and setting up the injector dead time table.

I also haven't been able to do a MAP calibration because the MAP is reading 10.4psi while BAP is reading 14.8.  I'm not sure why this is.

I've verified all the wires that need to be rearranged for the G4X are correct and have output tested them.  I think this is an issue with trigger 1 and 2.  I've attached my file as well as a trigger log.  Maybe someone with more experience can tell me if I have this area set up incorrectly?

TriggerScopeLog.llgx BMW E36 G4X Xtreme Plugin.pclx

Triggers look fine

Modelled Fuel Tables tend to need different values to Traditional Fuel, often more like 70 at idle.

For the MAP sensor I suspect you have a 7 Bar onboard MAP sensor not a 4 Bar and so you need to go to Analog Inputs -> MAP and change the Calibration setting from 4 Bar to 7 Bar.

Have you tested the trigger offset with a timing light? Don't forget the timing light can be flashing at the correct time on the crank but be 360 out on the cam and so it's always a good idea to try both your current offset and current offset +/- 360.

Also looking through your tune it looks like you might have both Fuel and Ignition turned off which won't be helping.

Thank you so much for the quick reply!  I'm sorry that I'm a bit exhausted from trying to figure this out.