Low end fueling with Vanos and turbo

ryancyates

I’m in the process of tuning my built S50B30 turbo.  The fuel map is pretty dialed in except for one area where I’m having an issue.  This is my first time using a LinkECU so I was hoping someone with more experience could give me some insight as to how I should tackle the problem.

Basically, the area of 0 rpm to 3,500 rpm and -10kpa to +10 kpa has two widely different fueling requirements depending on whether I’m lightly leaving from a stop and vanos cam angle is at rest or I’m crossing that range at WOT with 40° of cam angle advancement.

I can set it up so leaving from a stop is fine but then I get a harsh lean condition on spool up at WOT or I can set that area up for 12.5:1 AFR at WOT and I’m seeing 10:1 AFR while gently entering that area of the map and no Vanos engagement.

As far as thoughts I’ve had, I could reduce the vanos angle til after crossing that area of the map but it does slightly affect spool characteristics.

I haven’t used LinkECU’s closed loop control so maybe that’s a solution?

Then I was wondering if this is where I could do something with 4D fueling and cam angle?

Are you on traditional fueling or modeled?

Closed loop works great and would probably deal with the issue, but it's sort of band-aiding improper characterization of your fuel/VE table... It's really better to simply have the VE of your engine properly characterized.

Obviously, different valve event timing changes VE; hence your varying lambda.

A 4D/overlay target table would be a good solution to introduce cam angle as a factor in VE.

52 minutes ago, Hodgdon Extreme said:

Are you on traditional fueling or modeled?

Closed loop works great and would probably deal with the issue, but it's sort of band-aiding improper characterization of your fuel/VE table... It's really better to simply have the VE of your engine properly characterized.

Obviously, different valve event timing changes VE; hence your varying lambda.