pdm ground connection directly to battery negative?

sinjin

I have install other pdm (haltec, ecumaster, aim) but I am new to link and installing razor pdm first time. 

From razor user manual wiring instructions it says to connect both pdm positive and negative terminal directly to battery + and - ?

All other pdm I have used in past say to connect only + power to battery, and to connect - ground to engine just like I have been taught to do for ecu (star earth point concept).

Just wondering what is different with new razor pdm that recommends connect both + power and - ground back to battery?

Sorry for such basic question thank you for advice.

Thank you I see that Link Razor Wiring instruction #3 show ground to battery negative terminal or chassis okay.   Two points I have question to be sure.

1. Is my understanding correct that best practice for ground pdm to engine star earth point and not to battery or chassis yes?

2. Builder of customer car connected razor pdm ground to battery negative terminal already, but I notice all other ground is using engine as star earth point (like ecu, alternator, cops).  Should I ask builder to move pdm ground to same engine star earth point same as other accessories?

If it was me I would keep it how the builder of the car constructed it.  Maybe you ask him why he hooked it up that way?

I wouldnt take on the liability of building the car - it doesnt sound like thats your role with the customer?  

If something does happen and grounds are wrong than it’s not your fault and you wont be held accountable to fix or pay for it.

just my 2cents…

On 9/30/2023 at 6:41 PM, sinjin said:

Just wondering what is different with new razor pdm that recommends connect both + power and - ground back to battery?