Mazda 323 GTX 1986

Rally Mazda

Newbie questions/ thread

nearing the end of my winter rebuild on the rally car, i have gone full stand alone link ecu along with some other up grades along the way, but having issues getting the car to start. this is my first time doing anything like this and have mapping booked for Monday 8th April – but ideally trying to start prior to mapping and bleed up coolant system ext before heading to my tuner. 

its very highly likely i have settings completely wrong and havent set up the base map correctly leading to my issues. 

Injector test – works fine

Ignition test – has spark

Can see crank signal

Cant see any spark when cranking though - done through push button switch to starter solenoid with a DI input to ecu – so cant do timing light check

Fuel pump on aux 1 – but have this bypassed to a switch currently to allow testing until aux 1 is correctly set up.

Engine spec,

Mx5/323 gtx block

323 gtx head

Td04 turbo

No mazda OEM sensors, MAF removed ext

Changes made;

RX8 yellow injectors DENSO # 195500-4450 inj 1-4

Zetec coil pack – wired ign 1 + 2

Zetec crank sensor – trigger 1

36-2 trigger wheel

Link IAT - temp 2

Link combined temp/pressure sensor – water Temp 1 for temp ANv1 pressure

Link combined temp/pressure sensor – oil – ANv 2 pressure, 1k ohm resistor between 5v feed and ANv4 on temp

Link can lambda – lambda not currently fitted or plugged in (advice from tuner)

3 port boost solenoid – an output 4

Link monsoon G4x ECU

Start signal push button to starter solenoid + Feed to DI2

thanks in advance for any help or advice received.

PC Datalog - 2024-04-2 7;30;27 pm.llgx changes to ign order + DI's + Outputs.pclx

It would probably be helpful to do a trigger log. Click capture while you're cranking. Your RPM is showing up as intermittent which needs to be resolved before you can run. It may just be a matter of adjusting the arming threshold, but the trigger log will reveal more info.