EZ30D JDM swap into Subaru 2.5rs

3.0rs

Hello all,

This is my first time using any sort of standalone ECU so I will likely have a few more questions but right now the thing that is stumping me is the trigger 1 and trigger 2 for the crank and cam position sensors.  It talks about the number of teeth on the crank and cam which I have no idea how to determine nevermind the flat spots or missing teeth.  If someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.  All of the information included in PC Link seems to be related to the EZ30R with the AVCS not the EZ30D which I am unsure whether or not putting in these parameters may cause issues for my engine.

Thank you in advance,

Owen

The trigger signals themselves are the same between the EZ30D and EZ30R so you should be able to use the EZ30 trigger mode for trigger1 & 2, and then set the VVT type to Off. 

Only thing that might be an issue is the older 30D's only had a single cam sensor, whereas the newer ones have one per bank. The bank's both use the same 3 tooth cam wheel but the offset vs the crank is different for left and right. I'm not sure if the older model used the same offset as the left or right cam - the left is supposed to be trigger 2 on the EZ30R's. I suspect the ECU will sort this out for itself but you'll want to check the timing before you fire it up (which you should do anyway, just make sure you actually do it on this engine.

FYI the crank is the 36-2-2-2 and the cam is 3 tooth even spaced but cant manually put in complex numbers like the crank has. 

Hello,

I spoke with link support and they said all of the triggers were preset under the EZ30/36 AVCS option and I set VVT to off.  All is well there. Now the issue I am having is that when I went to check timing I have no spark.  Any idea why this might be?

Thanks