Gdi spill valve energized +5v

bocia79

Hello. I'm a newbie of this forum, of link ecu and also in gdi mapping and wiring.

My name's Giorgio and I'm from Italy. 

I'm going to install force gdi in a suzuki boosterjet 1.0 3 cyl. 

In wiring of ecu at the moment I have only one problem. In oem ecu spill valve is energized directly by ecu at +5v. 

Spill valve have resistence 0, 7 Ohm, so I can't energize spill valve by +5 of ecu (that is only for sensors vref and I think has no many current to drive spill valve ). 

In attachment some scope of oem spill valve's control signal. 

What do you think about? 

I can make some +5v adapter by tension limiter (like 7805). Is a good choice? 

Thanks a lot. 

IMG_20190111_185219.jpg

I can’t quite understand what your scope capture is showing.  What is channel A & B connected to?  Generally the ECU only switches the ground side of the spill valve, the live side comes from the power wiring.  On your scope it looks like channel A is set to 10v/div so those small square waves are approx 15v.

Thanks for your reply. 

I attach one page of workshop manual. Where I found thath is energized by +5v.

I connect only "A" probe to ground side of spill valve and ground of the probe in engine ground. 

Is better to use 2 probes and A-B function? 

Screenshot_20190113-082018.jpg

Do not worry for some reason they have chosen to show the drive circuit, your valve is a derivative of the Bosch HDP Series and the MSV valve is a current not voltage based device, you will need to wire it in accordance with the GDI manual and this is one we can control quite well.

• 4 weeks later...
On 1/13/2019 at 12:41 PM, ClintBHP said:

Do not worry for some reason they have chosen to show the drive circuit, your valve is a derivative of the Bosch HDP Series and the MSV valve is a current not voltage based device, you will need to wire it in accordance with the GDI manual and this is one we can control quite well.