No signal from trigger 2 (cam sensor) e36 g4+ pnp

blazenks

Hi Im just trying to setup my g4+ e36 pnp with a m50nv engine where the ecu connector has been repinned. My main issue is that there is no signal from trigger two at all, the wires have been checked for continuity and triple checked correct pins. Ive done a trigger scope and saw nothing on trigger 2. I was able to get an rpm reading by turning the trigger 2 sync to none. Although it still wouldnt start for more unknown reasons. Mainly first trying to figure out why the ecu wont read my cam sensor? I am yet to try a new sensor although I wouldve thought even if the sensor wasnt working correctly the ecu should still recognise that its there but just is faulty? Im a newb in this area and thought the pnp would be a bit sinpler so tips or ideas to try are appreciated!

I dont even know what a M50NV is, but from a quick google image search of the cam sensor (12141726548) it looks very much like it is a reluctor since it has something that looks like the pole piece poking out the tip.  Whereas the M50TU has a hall effect sensor so wiring and trigger setup in the software will be different, trigger offset may be different also as the M50TU uses a level sync type cam wheel which would not be possible in your engine if it has a reluctor sensor.  There is also a 3rd possibility - the e36's with the siemens ecu had a weird active cam sensor.  So, first step is to confirm what type of sensor you have, Measuring resistance accross pins will possibly give some clues - a reluctotor will usually have a resistance of less than 1500ohm between 2 pins, a hall will be kiloohms or megaohms.

Setting sync mode to none means the ecu wont know if it is on TDC compression stroke or TDC exhaust stroke so will have to guess, that means it will only be sparking on the correct stroke approx 50% of start attempts.