Custom Can Stream for AIM MXG Dash

kungfuice

I'm new to canbus, and I've been playing around with my new Link G4+ Thunder ECU. I've read some of the other posts and the help section in the PCLink software. Playing around with the Generic Dash template that ships with PC Link I can see everything I'd expect to see. I'd like to send more information though as the default template only sends approximately 36 parameters of the 120 I can receive on the AIM side. I was wondering what the best way to accomplish this would be? Some things I'd like to send over would be that are missing in the Generic Template are:

• Crank Case Pressure
  • Coolant Pressure
  • Turbo speed
  • EGT
  • Boost Trim Pot Position
  • Traction Control Trim Pot Position

At first thought I was thinking I could just define a custom can stream in the PCLink software and build a Custom can template in the AIM software. I did notice there was a CAN FULL  LCC template in the AIM software that had some more parameters, but I don't see any of those on the PCLink side of things. I also considered using the second can stream for sending this data over, but I'd have to wire that in as I don't have that in the harness right now.

What's the best way to handle this?

You can only send out a max of about 50 parameters.  Im working on more configurable templates and a video for both ends at the moment that will make it easier for other users in future, but it is only a spare time thing for me so could be some time off.  If you attach your dash and ecu files I will set it up for you.  Once you have seen my changes you will probably have enough info to make changes yourself.

13 hours ago, barge said:

Has AIM finally fixed the multiplexing issue on these so you don't have to use a bunch of streams with a custom CAN config?