1989 R32 GTR single turbo conversion – preparing for the first start

Lallego

Hi all,

I’m on the home stretch of my single turbo conversion. I hope this post will serve as a second source of information and troubleshooting guide for myself and possibly others. I’m sure there are things I can learn from you guys who have done this before.

Base Map: Now when I load the R32 GTR basemap and have yet to change anything (updated firmware, calibrated MAP and TPS). Where should I start in terms of correcting necessary settings on PCLink. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I’m a complete beginner on this ECU, or any ECU in fact. But the goal is to get the car started and idling well. From what I’ve read on the forum, set injector master pulse(4ms?)(if lean increase PW, if rich lower PW) set injector dead times as per the fuel pressure. In this case 30 advised by NZEFI. How about dwell time? I will be using R8 coils (see part below) What about timing? Given my mechanical timing components are installed properly, how is timing set on the ecu? Will I need a timing light as soon as it’s running?

Lastly, will I have to do this?

1.thumb.png.3ffc11b09098c33a32bfdc39d45ee186.png

It says: “In your trigger settings, Set engine type to RB26, set widest slot to 24deg, then set test ECCS sync to off (this must be done last).  Do a store, then crank it again and tell us if it now shows RPM.

All the other stuff is irrelevant for now.  The GTR doesnt have an oil pressure sensor connected to the ECU, the sensor is connected to the gauge in the dash only.  Your air temp sensor is connected to AN Temp 2, so turn AN Temp 3 off and put the below setings in AN Temp 2.  The AN Volt 6 error is because the oxygen sensor wont output voltage until it is warmed up.  We can change the fault setting so that doesnt report an error later.