Odd-fire trigger preferences

MRRPM

I have a 80 degree, odd-fire V2 engine, 4stroke, it has a 36-2 tooth wheel on the crankshaft (VR), and a one tooth cam sensor (HALL). I had it running on the stock triggers for years, ran great, but I had to change trigger wheels, for reasons not relating to the ecu. My question is, what would be the best trigger setup to fire this thing with? What would be everyone's dream setup, if they were gonna run this? I can make whatever trigger wheels I need, no problem. Should I go right back to stock triggers? I know this ecu can't do wasted in this setup at all, so we need the cam trigger.

Right now, I have a 36 tooth wheel, none missing, and one tooth cam sensor, can get rpm signal, but timing is anywhere, when spun over with starter, consistent as long as cranking, but stop cranking, and spark is anywhere. I was gonna do a trigger like this, but it doesn't seem to work.

The ultimate would be.

A cam sensor hall effect that is looking at a very wide tooth a 180deg tooth is ideal.

On the Crank then have 12 teeth with one removed (11 remaining teeth)

The missing tooth needs to be clear of either edge of the cam signal.

Ok, thanks Simon.

If I understand you correctly, I would mount a cam wheel that is basically a half moon shape, but the ends of this half moon shape would or could be anywhere, but not occurring when the crank sensor is reading the missing teeth gap.

In other words, the cam sensor would need to be halfway in the moon shape, or 180° opposite that,, while missing teeth are going under the crank sensor.

I will try this trigger setup sometime along, this is a new engine, having other issues at the moment, gotta pull the engine out now & fix a few things, then back in, with the new trigger setup.

• 2 weeks later...

If I may piggy back here guys.

I had a 24 tooth wheel made for the crank and a single reset hall trigger on my RB25 exh cam.

I did the 24 tooth as it was recommended elsewhere on this forum.