Fiat Uno Turbo triggers

Hamish Janes

Hi all. I'm wiring a G4+ to a 1301cc Uno turbo. It runs a reluctor type crank sensor off the crank pulley which has 2 teeth and also another reluctor type sensor which takes its signal off the flywheel ring gear teeth. At this stage I'm unsure how many teeth are on the ring gear. From another post I read, I can use the crank sensor only which isn't ideal and I'll need to run large dwell on cranking. My question is, can the other sensor reading the ring gear be used as the sync. Or any ideas? Worst case is I convert a 4age 20v dizzy to suit. Thanks in advance. 

I should also add that even though my profile says NEWBIE, I have extensive experience with these ecu's.

Ring gear can not be used as sync.  Best option would either to be keep the 2 teeth or install a multitooth/missing wheel. (36-1 or 60-2) on the crank.

Dizzy triggers are not a good solution (only good for sync).  If you want full sequential you need to have a sync trigger on either the camshaft or the dizzy.

Best option would either to be keep the 2 teeth

Two teeth on crank alone will not be enough for the engine to run (unless it is single coil with a distributer), since it will not know which tooth is cyl 1&4 and which is 2&3.

If you want to do direct ignition or wasted spark you will need to change either to a crank trigger wheel with missing teeth (would allow wasted spark) or you could stick with the two tooth wheel but you would need to add a single "sync" tooth to the camshaft or distributor (would allow seq or wasted spark).

Thanks for the replies. The engine does run just 1 coil but would be ideal to have individual injection and at least a wasted spark setup. 

I can install a crank trigger wheel to the front of the crank pulley but will this give me what I need for this? I could squeeze the very large 58/60 wheel on or ideally the smaller 24 tooth wheel. 

Thanks again