MR2 Spyder, Thunder and e-Throttle

Dom

Hi everyone.

I am planning on installing a Link ECU into my MR2 Spyder MY2000.
Along the ride, e-throttle will be installed.

For the 1ZZ engine, there are 2 Throttles available.
-- The later model standard e-throttle with 6 pin connector
-- Clutch type e-throttle (specifically used in the SMT version of the MR2)

Now, the clutch type would be the more elegant solution 'cause it incorporates the APS (still cable operated, no need to mess around with the ergnomics of the loud pedal).

is there any real downside to the clutch type one?

I have used some Bosch and Conti e-throttles with Link ECU's and this worked out really well every time, but I have no experience using that clutch type one.
is it as fast as the newer one?

The newer toyota ECTS have Hall sensors for TPS as well as theri pedal assemblies which is also a great thing...

thanks in advance!

BR from Austria
Dom

• Dom changed the title to MR2 Spyder, Thunder and e-Throttle

Yeah it's the same, is a bit more compact than the big UZ one, but same principle and same connectors.

image.png.8cd167dee6e6c024296cda6bb0e2614c.png

The APS sits behind the bracket on the right hand side.

I think the old style clutch ECTS hav resistor type pos sensors rather than the newer hall type?
The real Question I have: Is it noticeable slower than the new models?

Clutch Positive must not be hot fed.
You mean switched 12V on the pos leg of the clutch?
neg to an aux out of the link?
any special advice here, regarding aux out on a thunder? (current of the clutch?)

BR
Dom

I have not seen any issue with response speed.  It will move faster than the engine can accelerate thats for sure. 

23 minutes ago, Dom said:

Clutch Positive must not be hot fed.
You mean switched 12V on the pos leg of the clutch?

This means the 12V supply must be from an ignition switched source, not "hot" all the time.